Posted by: thebestthingscomeintwos | April 13, 2009

Yes, I nurse twins.

Can I just start by saying ahhhhhhhhh!  Stress level today is about 97 on a scale of 1-10.   Why?  Because breastfeeding is hard.  Sometimes its downright miserable and sometimes I just want to quit.

I think a big part of why it’s so stressful is because my expectations were so high.  When  you are pregnant, you read endlessly.  You read about how to screw up your kid, you read about how not to screw up your kid.  You read 90 thousand articles that contradict each other and contradict themselves and by the time your baby comes, you are convinced that no matter what you do your kid will be screwed up.

There is one thing however, that all the experts seem to agree on: breastfeeding is best for baby.   Breastfeeding is a magical journey which will be an unbelievable and amazing bonding experience.   If  you breastfeed, the first few months of your baby’s life will be incredible and you will float around on a cloud of happiness.  Well expecting Mama’s, I am here to tell you, this is a load of crap.   Your baby will scream his little head off when the milk doesn’t come out fast enough.  He will choke and gag and scare the hell out of you when the milk comes out too fast.   Some days, he just won’t nurse at all, but he will scream with hunger for hours on end.   Oh, and for you twin mama’s, there is absolutely nothing less magical in the world than struggling to get one baby to nurse while you listen to your other child scream endlessly over the baby monitor.

As an added bonus for those of you who were born in the 80’s, your parents will practically tell you that you are crazy for nursing.  They will tell you that “they didn’t nurse you and you turned out just fine.”  They will tell you constantly that your baby is not getting enough to eat.  They will ask you 5,000 times why you don’t just give him a bottle.   You will argue, you will tell them that all the research shows that breastfeeding is best, and they still will not support you.

Despite all this, you will continue to nurse.  You will continue to nurse because deep down, you know it is best for your baby.  You will continue to nurse because there are those moments, those little moments, where the books were right.  There are those moments, when that tiny little body is snuggled against you, happily suckling away and you feel so overwhelmingly full of love you could burst.   You feel so happy that you can provide all this little bundle needs that you hope he will nurse until he’s 7.   These little moments make it all worth-while.   When my babies are big and nursing is a distant memory, I won’t remember the struggle– I’ll remember the little moments, the contented sighs my little men let out when they are full and happy.  Full and happy because of me.

Responses

  1. YAY for you! I’m so happy to find another nursing twin mama. We’re a rare breed. I also had a really rough time at first until they got good at latching, then I could tandem nurse. Well worth the tears and frustration at the beginning because it’s so easy and rewarding now. Congrats on your twins!

  2. Hey girl! Oh my goodness you are a wonderful mom for nursing TWINS! I hated nursing both my girls…and am a little ashamed to say…I only did it for 4 months each. So you are my hero!!!!! I know being a mom can be really hard some days….but you just take it one day at a time and keep doing the best you can! PS, I had NO CLUE you had this blog!!! I only new about the babysites one…how do I see pics on here? Anyway, keep up the good work! hope all is well!

  3. […] to our Blog?  Check out these Oldies!  The Beginning,  Don’t Touch, WOW, I miss nursing, What its REALLY Like, — Of course– all my blog posts are stimulating and amazing and I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

