Posted by: thebestthingscomeintwos | May 12, 2009

Mother’s Day Memories

It was fantastic.  The boys were very well behaved in chruch and slept completely through a meal in a fancy resturant.  I even had a glass of wine!  What more could I ask for? 

It really was a great day.  My parents took all of us (me and the boys, my brother and my grandma) to a fancy (well, as fancy as you can get for western PA) Italian place.  The food was great.  I had a great family photo session and managed to get pics of the boys with their Nannie, and their Grammie and a huge family shot.    After my uncle’s sudden passing a few weeks ago, I am on a mission to make sure I capture every  moment. 

My mom and grandma seemed to like their gifts.  I got lots of nice cards and texts from friends and loved ones.  It was so nice to be remembered by so many.   C and J (curosity of Grammie)  gave me a wonderful locket to keep their pictures in.  I am so happy to have it!  It will be something I can keep forever.  I will always be able to look at it and remember yesterday.

When I look at it I will remember my boys exactly as they are now.  5 months old.    woah.  I have two 5 month olds.  Time is passing by way to quickly.   Wasn’t I just wishing they would hurry up and get here a few days ago? 

They are big boys now.  They are eating food.  They smile when I smile at them.  They babble and coo and squeal.  C can sit alone for a few minutes before toppling over.  J is rolling all over the place.   They are becoming so much more independent.  C is not content to sit and be held anymore.  He wants to stand on my lap and turn around and look everywhere.  Part of me wishes I could keep them like they are now forever.  I am terrified of forgetting.  I wish that I could preserve this sweet innocence and genuine curiosity about the world.   Nobody explained that watching your kids grow and change is magical and heart breaking at the same time. . .

Responses

  1. What a pretty locket the boys got for you! I totally relate to the feeling of wanting to preserve them just the way they are. It makes me look into the future and realize that, in my mind, they’ll always be little infants for the rest of their lives. Parenthood is really difficult in that sense, I’m guessing, because you’ve known these little beings literally from the time they were a single cell. Weird.

  2. Sounds like you had a marvelous day!

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. 🙂 As for the gardening, once your little ones get older you’ll have more time for taking on projects like that. I know it seems like it’ll never happen, but it WILL! And you could totally do a garden if you’re up for it! I’m seriously not a gardening genius, what I did proves that ANYONE can do it! :)))


Leave a Reply

Categories

