Posted by: thebestthingscomeintwos | May 13, 2009

Milk Draught.

I’ll being with a warning– there is more  information in this post than you want to know hear.   Ok, you were warned.   I haven’t been able to keep down anything, food or beverage wise since Sunday evening.  Everything I put in my mouth literally stays down for about 15 minutes.   I know, eeew.  I also have horrible pain on my right side.   I called my doctor yesterday, and she said “go to the ER, go directly to the ER, do not pass go, do not collect $200.”   (Yes, she really said that.  I love my doctor!) 

sigh.  So I went.   The wait was long, the room was freezing and a several hundred dollars later, I’m still sick.    The on-call doctor first decided I was having a gallbladder attack.  (This is apparently common after having your organs squished and relocated for 9 months.)   Next, he decided it was definitely my appendix.   “No, wait, that’s not it– its an ovarian cyst that burst.   Or, maybe you just have a stomach virus, but that doesn’t explain your pain and that should clear within 48 hours. . . . “  I want my money back– ’cause we sure didn’t figure anything out and I still feel like crap. 

Here’s the thing, I don’t even mind feeling like crap, but its really difficult to produce milk when you are completely dehydrated and haven’t had any caloric intake in three days.   I only pumped 4 ounces just now, and I can normally pump upwards of 10.   My poor babies are going to starve!   Anyone have any quick tips for boosting that supply back up?  

This is just another reminder of how emotional nursing is.  I feel horrible.  I feel guilty.  I feel like I am cheating them.  I know I can’t help it, but the feeling of guilt is still there.  It seems being a mama comes with a lot of guilt..

Responses

  1. Woah, what’s going on? I have no secrets to up milk supply other than nurse like crazy and pump even more. Try some Mother’s Milk tea. Oh wait, you can’t keep anything down?!? Argh! I hope you get better ASAP!


Leave a Reply

Categories

