Posted by: thebestthingscomeintwos | May 25, 2009

26-12

That was the score of our Memorial Day Family wiffle ball game.  Quite unfortunately, I was on the 12 end but it was all in good fun.   We had a textbook traditional holiday from planting flowers at the cemetery to the 4 s’mores that I just gorged myself on.   What a marvelous weekend of weather as well.  Ok, so its not Florida fabulous but I’ll take 70’s and sunny any day. 

The boys and I also traveled (along with my mom and grandma) to Erie for a bridal shower.  It was beautiful, the food was delicious and I won a sweet basket full of William and Sonoma grilling products!   What more could I ask for? 

What I didn’t do this weekend, is take any pictures.  This is crazy as I have been taking pictures every single day since the boys were born.  Thinking about it sends me into crazy mode.  Am I already slacking as a parent?  I’m a month behind on baby books.  I didn’t take any photos of a holiday weekend where we saw LOTS of people for the first time.  What if I fail to capture some important milestone?   What if the boys feel slighted or like I treated them unfairly in some way?  sigh.  I actually think these things.   I spend time worrying about them.  Time when I could be sleeping.   Seriously?   Even I think its nuts to worry about this stuff, but that doesn’t stop me from doing it. 

I already recognize that because I am doing this parenting thing by myself, I feel the need to overcompensate.  Almost like I have to be super parent, like if I do things perfectly that will somehow make up for the fact that their father disappeared in the night as soon as he found out there were two babies instead of one.  I know I am going to have to work on myself big-time to overcome this.   I mean, I’m already worrying about it, and they can’t even walk or talk yet.   I’m trying to convince myself to just do the absolute best that I can and not worry about the rest, but thats certainly easier said than done.  .  .ugh.  I’m going to go do something really important now, like paint my toenails and watch Jon and Kate + 8.

Responses

  1. Hey M!
    I’d love the password to see pictures of your little guys.

    Hope things are going well 🙂

    Be in touch!

    laurie


Leave a Reply

Categories

