Posted by: thebestthingscomeintwos | May 27, 2009

Random Picnic Recipe

First, lets establish that I do not cook much.  I will in no way be regularly posting recipe’s or anything like that.  I do however, love food.  I especially love picnic food.  There is one problem though:  I hate mayonnaise.       The smell absolutely repulses me, the texture is terrible and the taste is just disgusting.  This deep hatred leaves me left out of a lot of picnic favorites.   I don’t like potato salad, macaroni salad, coleslaw… etc.   So here is a recipe that I made for memorial day–its super easy!  Its a mayonnaise free coleslaw and its pretty darn good! 

Mayonnaise Free Coleslaw

2 Cups Sugar

1 Cup Vinegar (I used white, but think cider may work a bit better!)

1 Tsp. Celery Seed

1 Tsp. Mustard Seed

1 Tsp. Salt

1 Tsp. Pepper

1 Med Head Cabbage

1 Lg Carrot (I used one handful of baby carrots)

Grate Cabbage and carrots.  In a separate pot, bring all other ingredients to a boil and stir occasionally.   Pour over cabbage and carrots while still hot.  Refrigerate until thoroughly chilled. 

Enjoy!

Responses

  1. ARGH! You hate mayonnaise and I hate coleslaw! I can’t even read the ingredients, sorry! 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

