Posted by: thebestthingscomeintwos | May 28, 2009

There. I said it.

Ok.  Here goes. 

YES, having twins is at least double the work of having one baby.  I know,  I know, someone  told you, “oh, once you get them on a schedule, its really just like having one.”  They were being nice, but they were LYING

This woman at Mommy and Me repeatedly says, “oh, having two can’t be that much harder than one– just get them on the same schedule.”  Several other mommies also chime in:  “oh, they probably entertain each other, it must be so nice.”  Every week, I respond, “oh, yes its really not that bad.”   Here’s the thing though.  It is hard.   Its hard when you have two hungry babies and only two hands.  It breaks your heart when both babies are crying and you can only comfort one at a time.  Its at least twice as much work and at least five times as much stress. 

Come on people, its twice the expense, twice the dirty diapers, twice the blow-outs, twice the spit up and twice as many night time feedings.   Its half the sleep and half the spare moments.  Its twice as hard to leave the house and takes twice the time to do, well, anything

Its also twice the love.  Its twice the adorable moments and twice the snuggles.  Its twice the joy and double the fun.  Actually, everything about it is twice as wonderful, but it is not like having one baby.  It is nothing like that. 

Yes, they entertain each other.  They also wake each other up and make each other scream.  Yes, you learn to do everything in twos and it does get easier, but it is still not like doing it in singles. 

Having twins is the most amazing part of my life and I wouldn’t change a single thing about it.  I would however, be lying if I told you it was easy.   Nothing about it is easy, but everything about it is worth it. 

 

P.S.  Mama’s of higher multiples:  YOU are my heroes.  I have no idea how you do it.  You rock!

Responses

  1. I LOVE this post. This is so well written… I may have to print it out for my mother-in-law who “knows what it’s like” to have twins because her boys were 2 years apart. Ummm…. no. Not the same. I LOVE having twins… I wouldn’t trade it for anything… but it is very, very different than 1! Sometimes I think it takes another twin mom to understand… and as far as the higher order multiples… I have no idea what it must be like for them but I KNOW it is harder 🙂

  2. Everything you said is true. It is so very hard. That’s why I stayed away from breast feeding so that someone else could possibly help me feed the boys if I needed help. Mike would get up at night and feed them, etc.
    Hang in there, it will take a few years but eventually this will be more fun than work 😉

  3. Totally true post. I consider my girls to be relatively “easy” babies, but the truth is that it’s a lot of work. A LOT. But I don’t lie when I tell people that twins are the best and I wouldn’t trade this experience for all the chocolate in the world.

  4. OMG…AMEN!!! I have 3 boys, a 2 1/2 year old and identical twin 14 month olds. IT IS SO HARD!!! (And having twins is more than double the work of a singleton…I know because I’ve done it!) Throw an independent 2 1/2 year old on top of that and I feel like I live in a tornado…AND I work full-time. Anyhoo, thanks for this post. I want to say how hard it is to people, but I don’t want to burst their “oh, twins would be so great to have” bubble, ya know!?!? Take care! =)

  5. […] to our Blog?  Check out these Oldies!  The Beginning,  Don’t Touch, WOW, I miss nursing, What its REALLY Like, — Of course– all my blog posts are stimulating and amazing and I encourage you to […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

