Posted by: thebestthingscomeintwos | July 2, 2009

Fenugreek

As most of you know, we have been struggling with low milk supply for some time now.   Its stressful, and I hate that the boys are getting so much formula.    I also hate how much formula costs.  WOAH BABY.   Have you looked at formula prices lately?  Its waaay worse than diapers. 

I’ve been taking Raglan for a few weeks now.  It does seem to help a bit, but it also makes me depressed and moody.   I recently decided that the mood swings were not worth the tiny bit of extra milk that I’m getting from it. 

Now, I have moved on to Fenugreek.  I took it once before, about two months ago when I first had a drop off.  After one dose I felt horribly sick, but I’m not completely sure that it was from the herbs, so, I’m trying again.  I am so hoping it does the trick.   

I think I will also try nursing one on both sides and giving the other a bottle and then switching at the next feeding.   Right now we are nursing first and then supplementing after. 

If anyone has any advice or tips about any of this, please comment–  we need all the help we can get!

Responses

  1. Unfortunately, I don’t have any helpful hints on this, but I’m just posting to commiserate with you. I have this same issue, my boys are 5.5 months old and I’m having a bit of a drop-off as well. I don’t want to take the Reglan they prescribed, because I’ve heard awful things about it. I’ve tried Fenugreek before, and am on it again, and see a slight difference. I had to start supplementing after at least 2 meals during the day at this point, and am feeling pretty deflated about the whole thing. I was considering trying just what you suggest, where one kid gets both breasts at one feeding, and then the other gets the breasts at the next feeding, etc. If you try it, can you let me know how it works?

    Thanks for sharing your twin experiences! Also maybe check out twinstuff.com – they have smoe awesome forums that really have helped me out tremendously with my twins.

  2. For me, it’s taken Mother’s Milk tea three times a day, lactation cookies (the REAL recipe is here http://bit.ly/sSW5Z – it requires brewer’s yeast and flax meal, both at GNC) and fenugreek, three pills three times a day. I also cut way back on caffeine, from three diet Cokes a day to one. I’ve weaned off everything except the fenugreek, of which I still take three pills a day. I noticed the most impact from the fenugreek, but doing all of those things really did the trick. Try not to give up! You can do it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

