Posted by: thebestthingscomeintwos | July 5, 2009

Whew!

Happy Belated 4th of July to you all! 

It was a wonderful whirlwind of a weekend, but I am so glad its over!  Its great to see company come, but its great to see ’em leave too! 

I shouldn’t complain though, other than freezing weather, we had fantastic holiday!

They boys were so so so so good.   They were good despite the fact that their great grandmothers are under the impression they must talk one inch away from their faces at all times.    They were good despite the fact that they were passed around like a cheap bottle of wine.  They were off their routine and they did great!   I’m so proud of them!

The absolute highlight of the weekend though was the fireworks display.   I really thought this was going to be a low light.   Actually, I thought it was going to be a train wreck.   I thought I would spend it sprinting for the car with two screaming babies.   I could not have been more wrong.   The boys loved the show. 

They fell asleep in the stroller about a half hour before it started.   I thought for sure the that huge booms would wake them and a melt down would immediately ensue, but it didn’t.   The first 10 minutes of the show, they didn’t even flinch.   Then baby C woke up and immediately stared at the sky.   He sat motionless, with a little half smile on his face.  Baby J joined him a few moments later and was equally enthralled with the show.   They both cooed and blew raspberries and smiled  a lot; never taking their eyes off the sky!   I can’t honestly say that I watched the fireworks too much.  I was way too busy watching the babies enjoy them.   Seeing the same old things through their eyes gives me such a wonderful renewed sense.   I can’t wait for all the things the future holds. . .

 

Coming this Week:

Pictures, Pictures and More Pictures!

School Started

Teething Updates

Sleep Training/ Crying it Out Updates

Breast Milk Updates

Responses

  1. Awww, what a sweet story! Glad the 4th went so well for you, and that your babies were so beautifully behaved. Well done 🙂

  2. Dang it! We skipped the fireworks because I thought for sure the girls would lose it with the loud bangs, plus the shows were way past their bedtime. Oh well, next year! Glad it went so well for you guys.


Leave a Reply

Categories

